The most frequently-used databases
Why search here?
Search and read high-quality academic and scholarly ebooks across all subjects. Includes over 140,000 full-text ebooks with the option to download chapters or entire books.
This link opens in a new window
Why search here?
Start here for historical background research! Covers U.S., ancient, and modern world history with primary sources, encyclopedias, timelines, images, maps, and helpful topic centers.
Why search here?
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million scholarly and primary sources in 75 disciplines, particularly the humanities and social sciences, with academic journal articles, books, primary sources, and images.
- This link opens in a new window
Why search here?
Locate books, ebooks, audiobooks, and movies at St. George's Library and other public libraries in Rhode Island.
Why search here?
Provides access to multidisciplinary subject coverage through scholarly journals, ebooks, and professional and popular publications in the sciences, humanities, arts, and cultural studies.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Why search here?
Thousands of rare historical American newspapers offering a rich chronicle of daily life in America, and curated collections provide a broad range of historical, regional, and political perspectives from 1690 to the early 20th century.
Why search here?
Artstor’s collections of high-quality images are curated from leading museums and archives around the world.
Why search here?
Science Online offers a comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on core science disciplines to help students find a starting point for their research.
Why search here?
Access full text of articles from 1980-present from Newport History, the journal of the Newport Historical Society, covering all facets of life in Newport. Recent hard-copy issues are also available in the library.
Why search here?
Explore 23,500+ newspapers from throughout the United States, with limited global coverage. Includes both national and local newspapers, as well as historic Newport titles.
Why search here?
Access and stream 1,600 documentaries, programs, and more from PBS in all subject matters.
Why search here?
Statista brings together statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Guides by Subject
