We're here to help! Reach out to Mrs. Hooper or Ms. Fox for assistance with research, writing, and citations:
Email us at library@stgeorges.edu
Mrs. Hooper Ms. Fox
In Noodletools, cite primary sources based on where you found them (database, website, print, viewed/heard live) and what type of source it is (check out the whole grid of color-coded options). These can be tricky, so if you have questions, ask a librarian!
Primary sources, or firsthand accounts of events, include speeches, videos, newspaper articles, and much more. They are found in a wide range of sources, including books, databases, and high-quality websites.
Why search here?
The Christian Science Monitor is an international news organization. Includes full digital access of articles from 1908-2007. Access to current articles can be found in the library's U.S. Major Dailies database.
Why search here?
Full digital access to articles from 1851-2007. Access to current articles can be found through the school's New York Times subscription or the library's U.S. Major Dailies database.
Why search here?
The RI Digital Newspaper Project makes Rhode Island’s historic newspapers freely available. More than 50 local newspapers, primarily from the late 19th and early 20th centuries, are available to read online.
Why search here?
Full digital access to articles from 1889-2004. Access to current articles can be found through the school's Wall Street Journal subscription or the library's U.S. Major Dailies database.
Why search here?
Full digital access of articles from 1877-2004. Access to current articles can be found in the library's U.S. Major Dailies database.
Why search here?
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune.
Why search here?
Unlimited access to The Atlantic Monthly's articles from 1857 to the present, podcasts, audio articles, and weekly newsletters.
Why search here?
In-depth reporting and news covering colleges and universities and the state of higher education. Includes full coverage access to articles, job postings, and student resources.
This link opens in a new windowWhy search here?
On and off-campus full digital access to content from 1851 to today's news, with the exception of articles within the date range 1923-1980 (which can be accessed through the U.S. Major Dailies database).
This link opens in a new windowWhy search here?
Full digital access to The Wall Street Journal. Access to articles from 1889-2004 can be found the in The Wall Street Journal (historical) database.
When searching Google, include the phrase "primary sources'' in your search to help narrow down your results, and examine search results closely to determine if they are authentic primary sources.